Seasoned DUI Attorney With a Solid Track Record
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated or impaired (DWI) are serious criminal charges that come with hefty consequences. If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI in Las Vegas, an experienced DUI attorney can help you navigate your options within the legal system. The Law Offices of Karen A. Connolly, Ltd. has extensive experience defending clients charged with DUI and DWI, and we may be able to help with your case.
The DUI Process in Las Vegas
After an arrest for drunk driving in Nevada, you typically receive a citation to appear in court in the near future. When you go to court, you will have to enter a plea and answer to the criminal charges. If your charge is a misdemeanor, your criminal defense lawyer can usually appear at the hearing on your behalf.
Arrested for DUI in Nevada?
This hearing is the first major step in the criminal case against you, so it’s important to hire a lawyer with a proven reputation handling DUI and DWI cases. Karen A. Connolly has developed credible defenses for numerous clients facing these charges. She will work to obtain police reports pertaining to your arrest, reports from the laboratory that tested your blood, maintenance history on the breathalyzer machine used in the field, and other relevant evidence in an effort to secure an acquittal, minimize your sentence, or have your case dismissed.
Those charged with DUI also face a hearing before the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). During this proceeding, the DMV will determine whether your driver license will be suspended. Having your license suspended can be devastating. Ms. Connolly can represent you at the DMV hearing, where it may be possible to win the hearing and avoid having your license suspended.
Las Vegas DUI Laws
In Nevada, you may be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or higher and you are over the age of 21. If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you could be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02 or more.
The DUI penalties that may be imposed after your first DUI include two days to six months in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a 90-day license suspension. If you are convicted a second time, you may be sentenced to 10 days to six months in jail, fines of up to $1,000, and a yearlong license suspension. Third DUI offenses may carry penalties of one to six years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and license suspension for three years.
If convicted of DUI, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle to maintain driving privileges. An IID prevents your car from starting until you pass a breath test and establish that you have not been drinking. Some devices require you to take a breath test while driving. An IID is expensive to install, and there are monthly fees associated with maintaining the device.
Las Vegas DUI Lawyer
You may face serious, costly penalties if you are convicted of driving under the influence or while intoxicated in Las Vegas. These penalties can have a lasting effect on your life and even lead to loss of the driving privileges you rely on. If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI, Karen A. Connolly may be able to represent you. Ms. Connolly’s experience arguing before Clark County Courts and negotiating with the Clark County Office of the District Attorney has helped her defend many drivers. Call the Law Offices of Karen A. Connolly, Ltd. today at (702) 678-6700 for a free consultation.