25 years of Criminal Law Experience
Domestic violence involves any form of “violence” or “abuse” between people involved in a domestic or familial relationship, including those who are living together.
Battery which constitutes domestic violence is defined by NRS 200.485.
Battery is broadly defined as any unwarranted, harmful touching. Examples of battery include hitting, pushing, kicking and slapping.
If you have been accused of a domestic abuse crime, Karen A. Connolly will work to tirelessly to defend you, ensuring that you are treated fairly.
Protective Orders and Restraining Orders
If you have been accused of a crime of domestic violence, the alleged victim may seek and obtain a protective or restraining order against you. A Temporary Protective Order (TPO) may limit your access to your children, to your home, and the accuser. Violation of a TPO is a crime. A TPO will also impact your Second Amendment Right to own/carry a gun.
In light of the adverse consequences that a protective order can have, especially when children are involved, it is important that you have the assistance of a seasoned defense attorney.
Injunctions and Protective Orders are set forth in Chapter 33 of the Nevada Revised Codes.
Violating a protective order is either a misdemeanor or a gross misdemeanor under NRS 33.100.
Domestic Violence Penalties
The penalties for a domestic violence in Nevada conviction depend on whether this is your first, second, or third domestic violence offense. Those penalties are set forth in NRS 200.485.
If convicted, you could receive two days to six months in the Clark County Detention Center. Fines range from $200 to $1,000, plus administrative and court costs. You may also receive between 48 and 120 hours of community service. You may be required to attend weekly counseling sessions at your own expense.
If convicted, you could receive 10 days to six months in the Clark County Detention Center. Fines range from $500 to $10,000, plus administrative and court costs. You may also receive between 100 and 200 hours of community service. You may be required to attend weekly counseling sessions at your own expense for up to 12 months.
If convicted, you could receive 1 to 5 years in Nevada State Prison. You could be assessed a fine of up to $10,000. A third domestic violence conviction is a felony. Probation is not available.
Other Consequences of Domestic Violence
Because domestic violence is taken so seriously by Las Vegas courts, you could be facing many other consequences in addition to criminal penalties if you are convicted of domestic violence.
In the case of parents, if domestic violence is proven by clear and convincing evidence, there is a rebuttable presumption that the perpetrator should not have joint legal or physical legal custody.
In addition, federal law prohibits those who have been convicted of domestic violence from legally carrying a firearm. For members of the military and law enforcement officials, this could mean the end of your career.
You must do everything in your power to avoid being convicted of domestic violence in Las Vegas. This means that you should hire an experienced domestic violence lawyer to fight for your innocence in court.